Skip to content

Newbie Notes: Inverting Colours

March 21, 2015

Newbie-NotesI mentioned in my previous post that I chose a particular shade of green to lift the colours of the Design Seeds palette. So where did I get that particular shade of green that tones so well? I have a trick for that using Blend Modes. In Photoshop, Difference and Exclusion are what’s known as Comparative Modes. Don’t ask me the mathematics behind them – I learned by accident that I could use them to create inverted colours for my swatches. Sometimes one works better than the other. So for the current one, I duplicated the palette layer and changed the Blend Mode to Difference and got just black. Exclusion gave me other options, including a green with a perfect tonal value for contrasting with our palette.

_Inspiration Design Seeds Exclusion

3 Comments leave one →
  1. jayleigh permalink
    March 22, 2015 3:43 am

    Oh! Thanks – i knew that at one time when i was first using PS at work, and then i wanted to know all the wonderful things it could do if i just made the right moves! i’d forgotten about this, but now i’m going to practice it again. That will really help when i want to match something in a photo to a paper i love that is not quite the right shade… You’re a keeper, my friend! Thanks for this tip, and also once again for your gloriously gorgeous new kit!

    • March 23, 2015 9:56 pm

      There’s just so much to learn, isn’t there? Even after using Photoshop for many years! I’m still learning, and trying to improve on my skill with the Pen Tool et al. You mentioned matching colours in a photo – do you know about the Eyedropper Tool? You can use that to sample colours. I did a Newbie Notes about that back in April 2011 that you might find useful. Although knowing you, you already have that technique down. A twist I learned just recently is how to use the Eyedropper “on the fly”, as you’re painting with the Brush Tool. By pressing the Alt button, it temporarily brings up the Eyedropper Tool. Sample your colour, let go of the Alt button and you’re back to the Brush Tool. Very cool technique. You could use it to keep selecting colours from your photo and adding them to a background on a different layer. Does that make sense?

Trackbacks

  1. CraftCrave | DigiFree | CraftCrave

Leave a Reply

