Skip to content

STS CC: Nordic Sea

December 6, 2010

A new colour challenge at a new Forum – and I’m late! Shucklod let me know about this one (thanks, shucklod!) at Stuff to Scrap so I thought I would have a go, especially since this particular palette is really not my thing. Sound strange? I think there is great value in working outside your usual comfort zone. It can be stimulating and rewarding as you stretch your abilities in different directions. So, I looked at these colours and thought – cool, clean, Scandinavian. Then I came across the work of Norwegian artist Peder Krøyer. And Nordic Sea began to form.

It may occur to the purists among you that the palm tree paper is not particularly Nordic.

But hey – I was having fun with my watercolours and liked how it turned out! Do you?

The patterned paper with sanded edge at 100%…

12 Comments leave one →
  1. December 6, 2010 11:21 am

    It doesn’t sound strange at all, it’s always good to step out of our comfort zones from time to time and you certainly rose to the occasion in creating such a gorgeous kit:)

  2. Kindred Spirit permalink
    December 6, 2010 3:36 pm

    Wonderful as usual. But, I can’t get the 4shared page to open to be able to download. Tried several times. Thanks again. I look forward to your new things and your true art.

    • December 6, 2010 3:58 pm

      What browser do you use, Kindred Spirit? I checked the link in Firefox and it seems fine. But I have the 4Shared pages set to open in a new tab. When I tested the link in Internet Explorer, it opens in a new window. I’m wondering if the link is opening in a pop-up for you and maybe you have a pop-up blocker as part of your security protocols? Did you manage to download the Papers you were having difficulty with the last time?
      juno
      xx

  3. December 6, 2010 9:04 pm

    Thank you so much for this post. I want to let you know that I posted a link to your blog in CBH Digital Scrapbooking Freebies, under the Page 7 post on Dec. 06, 2010. Thanks again.

  4. fl_connie permalink
    December 7, 2010 3:56 am

    Thanks for this cute kit! Did you know it was snowing on your blog, lol! ((hugs))

    • December 7, 2010 11:04 am

      Hi Connie. Yes, I added the snow because it’s snowing here!
      juno
      xx

  5. Laurel permalink
    December 12, 2010 1:35 am

    Very interesting, I love the palm tree! Thank-you for sharing!

    • December 13, 2010 12:49 pm

      Thanks, Laurel. I had fun painting that!
      juno
      xx

  6. Kirsten permalink
    December 27, 2010 10:00 am

    Well – there are not many palm tree in the Scandinavian countries, but with all the snow and hard frost we have had the alst month, you can always dream about a beach with palmtrees! Thank you so much!

    • December 29, 2010 7:24 am

      That’s what I was hoping, Kirsten. Sweet dreams!
      juno
      xx

Leave a Reply

