Skip to content

Sept CC: The Rose Within

November 16, 2010

Big changes at DSO – after all the palaver last year, this time the store is definitely closed.

I had no professional connection with it – I just liked to play there!

The CC is continuing but Kim, whose colour swatches have been fabulous (mostly!ย  ๐Ÿ˜‰ )

((KWIM KIM?!))

is moving her store and the challenge is now being hosted by Jen.

This kit is from Sept’s CC, which got abandoned when Oct’s came along.

There’s another Alpha to come, too…

If I continue with the Color Challenges, please tell me:

Do you prefer full kits as I have been doing?

Or just a collection of elements?

Or more alphas?

…a closer look at the papers…

…and three pretty swirls that got forgotten in the preview…

(included in the kit)

18 Comments leave one →
  1. November 16, 2010 10:40 am

    Thank you for your lovely kits. Your work is wonderful.
    Hugs xx

    • November 16, 2010 10:46 am

      *June: You’re welcome! Thanks for the kind compliment.
      juno
      xx

  2. November 16, 2010 5:16 pm

    Thank you so much for this post. I want to let you know that I posted a link to your blog in CBH Digital Scrapbooking Freebies, under the Elements or Papers post on Nov. 16, 2010. Thanks again.

  3. Ann permalink
    November 17, 2010 1:56 am

    thank you ! love the papers, swirls and everything!!

    • November 17, 2010 11:41 am

      *Ann: Thanks, glad you like them ๐Ÿ™‚
      juno
      xx

  4. Kristine permalink
    November 17, 2010 11:19 am

    These are beautiful too! I can’t wait to download them tonight! Thanks again, you have such lovely taste!

    • November 17, 2010 11:43 am

      Kristine: Thanks for the lovely compliment.
      juno
      xx

  5. makeyesup permalink
    November 17, 2010 12:40 pm

    Thanks, think your work is lovely and always appreciate it. Size of the kits are good and variety is super. Get frustrated when I see a real large kit and it’s because the designer makes one of every color. You make so many different ones and that’s great. Do wonder if you flatten your .jpg images before saving as some of them are quite large. Know I often forget and then realize after I hit the save button and have to go back and redo. Usually figure papers over 5 mb are too big unless they require transparency and .png saving. Those are tough.

    • November 17, 2010 12:59 pm

      *makeyesup: I really value the time you took to reply to my questions.
      I know what you mean about those really large kits. And it can be maddening when you spot the cutest element that you would really like to have!
      Re my kits and jpg paper size – In Photoshop I find the filesize remains the same whether I flatten the image before saving or not. Is it not the same in the program you use yourself? Or maybe I am missing something. There’s always more to learn!
      I realize that often the paper files are large. I have always used the maximum quality to avoid too much jpg compression. Maybe it’s time to alter that? See if it affects the end result in any way that really matters?
      For example, paper #6 in The Rose Within, the one with the two Vogue ladies, is 8.71MB. (Ouch. How right you are!) When I save it at Quality 10 instead of 12, it saves at 4.63MB. Hmmm. I feel an experimental change coming on…
      Thanks again for your feedback and for your kind commendation ๐Ÿ™‚
      juno
      xx

  6. Kathie permalink
    November 17, 2010 1:58 pm

    Your beautiful kits are soooo much appreciated by those of us who are addicted to digital scrapbooking. It pleases me to no end when I find another freebie from you! I religiously try to collect all the DSO Color Challenge submissions and yours is always the best out there. Please keep it up. I would much rather have higher quality print files and not worry about file size. There is nothing more disappointing that completing a beautiful new page, spending the money to output the file, and then discovering that the print quality just isn’t there. Storage space is the least expensive component in our computer systems … I believe I paid $129.00 for a 1T external hard drive from Costco) so please continue with what you have been doing … you are a gift to us … and thank you, thank you, thank you for everything that you have contributed!

    • November 17, 2010 6:39 pm

      *Kathie: Wow! I am absolutely bowled over by your gracious words. Thank you!
      What you say about print quality is very interesting. I often wonder how many scrapbookers actually use kits to print an end product, whether it be a LO or other artworks like ATCs, cards and pictures. (As opposed to storing them all digitally, in which case 72dpi would be adequate and significantly smaller to store.) Did you ever think, when you started, that we would be using terabyte EHDs?? Gotta love technology. Although I will pay more attention to filesizes, too…
      I would love to see some of your own work, if you feel like sharing. ๐Ÿ˜‰ You have really encouraged me to keep on making kits as usual. Back to the drawing board to expand that Nov mini!

      juno
      xx

  7. Kristine permalink
    November 18, 2010 10:25 am

    Help I tried to download these and because I stopped it during the count down in 4shared it won’t let me download them. Is it possible for you to send me the link? I would be so happy if you could. Let’s just say that I had the freedom at 16 yrs old to paint my room and carpet. I chose lavender walls and dark purple carpet and purple trim. This takes me back. The color doesn’t quite make my husband as happy as it does me partly why I was so excited to aquire your art work! Thanks so very much!

    • November 18, 2010 10:34 am

      *Kristine: Here is the LINK
      I don’t get why you couldn’t download, but try this first – if it still doesn’t download for you, let me know and I’ll work out something else.
      I mean! Nothing should get in the way of you reliving your 16 yr old creative sense while keeping your husband happy ๐Ÿ™‚
      juno
      xx

  8. November 18, 2010 10:44 am

    *shucklod: Thanks for your comment on 4Shared about Kim being back at the CC from Feb. I missed that info somehow!
    Stuff to Scrap looks interesting, too. I’ll be checking their Challenges out more closely asap.
    juno
    xx

  9. Kirsten permalink
    November 18, 2010 2:09 pm

    OHHH Juno you know I LOVE your stuff so PLEASE, PLEASE continue with kits!!! Your things are so different from everything else in the scrapworld and the quality so high!!
    Thank you so much for all the lovely freebies! on to dl, this kit!

    • November 18, 2010 10:53 pm

      *Kirsten: What a lovely compliment. I think it’s important to have your own style. Keep an eye on developing trends – sure! But adapting those trends to express myself is what gives me pleasure.
      I’ll keep going with kits ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for the feedback.
      juno
      xx

  10. Laurel permalink
    December 12, 2010 1:24 am

    Lovely, such romantic colors. Thank-you for sharing this kit!

    • December 13, 2010 12:52 pm

      Yes, soft and girly! I’m glad you like what I did with the swatch.
      juno
      xx

Leave a Reply

