Skip to content

The GIMP and Papers

August 19, 2010

Meandering around the web (as you do), I came across the Save the Green site which promotes digital scrapbooking as a way of preserving trees along with preserving your memories. What I like about this site is their list of tutorials for The GIMP. The WHAT, juno? The GIMP. GNU Image Manipulation Program. Free, Open Source image editing programme available to download HERE. I am intrigued by the whole concept of open source software and was interested to learn about the GIMP but never explored it until I found these tuts.

GIMP can:

This screenshot from Scrapbooks Gone Digital is very helpful for the total novice. Like me.  😉 Anyway, I had a little play with textures and blending modes and came up with my first ever GIMP papers. Have you tried the GIMP? Or GIMPshop (same but mimics PS interface)? I would love to hear any stories and tips you found useful.

I made these papers with a view to doing some more wedding LOs.

Lots of lavender and soft green to contrast.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. August 19, 2010 3:21 pm

    Thank you so much for this post. I want to let you know that I posted a link to your blog in CBH Digital Scrapbooking Freebies, under the Elements or Papers post on Aug. 19, 2010. Thanks again.

  2. Rene' permalink
    August 20, 2010 2:54 am

    Beautiful and TYVM!!

  3. September 6, 2010 6:35 pm

    Very nice scrapbooking with the marriage picture.
    I really like the colors and the artwork, very
    soft and sweet. Good work!
    Jul.

    • November 7, 2010 6:47 pm

      Thanks for the compliment, Jul.
      It helps when you have such a beautiful bride and groom to work with 🙂
      juno
      xx

  4. tawyn permalink
    November 6, 2010 2:35 pm

    I do all my scrapping in Gimp and find I can do pretty much everything that you can do in Photoshop, sometimes it’s easier 🙂 and sometimes it’s not :(.

  5. Lilcajunett permalink
    November 6, 2010 4:52 pm

    Juno, Very good Papers! I have the Gimp Too! but, still trying to master it. It is easier than my $30.00 program. If I could Just learn how to put my photo’s into a mask i’ll be alright! LOL.

    • November 7, 2010 6:44 pm

      Thanks Lil! Yes, I’m still learning too, and sometimes it’s just easier and faster to go back to Photoshop! But I’m going to keep trying with GIMP.
      (See note in post of Nov 7 re masks)
      juno
      xx

Leave a Reply

