Skip to content

Newbie Notes: Fonts 1

February 15, 2010

on’t you just LOVE fonts? When I was studying Graphic Design, I absolutely fell in love with the use of typography as an art form, as an expression of beauty in itself, and with its ability to create ambience and mood. And when I discovered free fonts – well! Suffice it to say that I have 700 plus ahem, a LOT of fonts.

If you are anything like me in this respect, you will have discovered that having all your current favourites loaded makes Photoshop a little cranky to load. So, when I learned that it was possible to make a font available for use in Photoshop WITHOUT LOADING IT, my little heart went pitter-pat.

And it is so easy! All you have to do is open the font(s) you want to utilise before you open Photoshop, and when you select your Text Tool, the font will appear in the dropdown menu as usual. Now join me in a happy dance….

(And in the same vein, please note my gorgeous new drop cap, courtesy of Jessica Hische. Thanks, Jessica!)

Please also check out theΒ  Addendum to Newbie Notes: Fonts 1

HERE

on Newbie Notes: Fonts 2



7 Comments leave one →
  1. Mema permalink
    February 16, 2010 4:15 am

    There are so many lovely fonts out there and this makes it so easy to use them. Thanks so much for this great tip. I’m doing the happy dance!!!

  2. February 16, 2010 6:59 pm

    I’m addicted to fonts as well. Even my favs. run into the hundreds.

    Anisah, font a holic

  3. February 17, 2010 5:17 pm

    Is it really that simple?! Wow! Must try πŸ™‚ And, yes, I’m a font addict too πŸ™‚ Hugs dear friend.

  4. February 18, 2010 2:47 am

    Oooh, beautiful drop cap indeed! Thanks for the tip.

  5. February 19, 2010 7:06 pm

    Great tip. Thanks Juno. Your blog is looking great πŸ™‚

  6. March 3, 2010 3:23 pm

    Just HAD to go try this one. It works! Hooray. I’ve downloaded fonts for a long time and never knew how to access them. Thank you, thank you, thank you! The drop-down font is beautiful.
    Thanks, Judy

  7. Leah permalink
    March 27, 2010 7:24 pm

    This sounds great, but I seemed to have missed an essential. How do you “open a font” before opening Photoshop?
    thanks for you help and a great tip once I figure out how to do it.

Leave a Reply

