Skip to content

I Won a Prize!

December 11, 2009

Well! I was like a little child when I got an email from Gail saying congratulations for being runner up in the Mind Wide Open challenge. It’s so nice to win something, isn’t it? Not that I have much practice. I’m not one of these people who seem to win every draw and whose number always seems to be picked in those Random Generator thingys. So I am ridiculously pleased today!

And I get to choose a Collage Sheet from the lovely Shabby Cottage Studio as my prize. Their collage sheets are printed with a toner based ink which lends itself to image transfer techniques. My current printer is an inkjet so I can’t print images for myself for this technique. I am slowly gathering supplies to try out some  big new projects incorporating image transfers for after my son’s wedding in early January so this will be a welcome addition to my stash.

Now all I have to do is recreate the “Dance Lightly” digital folder that I deleted with all my 300 dpi psd and png files so that I can print my picture at 8×10″ and frame it for my home!

I also want to have it ready in time to go into my etsy store for its Grand Opening  🙂

With all the ongoing prep for the wedding, I have no goodies to share today although I am working on the Dec CC. I am hoping to complete it and post before the end of the month because that will be a full year of  kits accomplished!

But I do have this to share

Check these out…

These are all done with Shape Collage.com

This is a very cool online app that makes collages from any url. (With some odd exceptions –  with some Flickr pages I tried, I got an error message saying no photos were found, can’t figure out why…) You can choose basic shapes or outlines although some make more effective collages than others. And you can use text!

If you download the free desktop application, you can use any of your folders of images for your collages and save them to your computer. And you can use other shapes as well. The  files are large enough to be of printable quality. I did this “J” with the downloaded programme and the original filesize is 2.52 MB…

You can buy a Pro version of the software which enables you to save your collages as psds for further play.

And if your collage has 300 photos in it, the psd will apparently have 300 layers!

You’ll find a YouTube video HERE with more info.

Have fun!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 11, 2009 8:35 pm

    Congratulations! Well done 🙂 I’m so happy for you, my friend. And thanks for the interesting link 🙂 Hugs

  2. December 21, 2009 8:15 pm

    It’s me again 🙂 I just wonder how you are doing? Hope you are not sick 😦 I’m guessing you are totally occupied with the preparations for the wedding 🙂 Lots to do there, I’m sure. Well, take care my friend and get some rest in between 🙂 Hugs

  3. Trine permalink
    January 2, 2010 12:21 am

    Thank you SO much for sharing the Shape Collage with – It’s GREAT!!!!

Leave a Reply

