Skip to content

Mind Wide Open: Dance Lightly – Success and Disaster!

December 3, 2009

My first entry for a competition!

Aren’t “Firsts” exciting?

This is my first ever attempt at an  art challenge where the entries are actually voted on and prizes are given…

Mind Wide Open is the place and I worked on this piece for DAYS.

This is what you were given to start with:

…and you can do anything you like with the image.

As you can see, I extracted the main elements so that I could combine them in my own way. Cloning around the dancer was interesting, all that tulle! And the clock behind the bird had to be totally constructed so that it could be used as an image in its own right.

The advanced Photoshop classes that I have been taking at Creative Techs were put into full use! I had fun putting lots of new tips and techniques into practice in what is the most technically challenging piece I have ever attempted.

I was very pleased when I had the idea about making the dancer, the main focus, into a tag which could be layered and made to stand out.

I found the perfect quote that I felt expressed something about the dancer and also tied all the elements of the montage together.

I even found the perfect pearl to tremble at the tip of the leaf…

Did I mention that I worked on this for DAYS?

Then, when I was at last satisfied with it –

I . DELETED . ALL . MY . WORK!

All my Photoshop 300 dpi files that I would have used to print out and frame this piece!

Not only did I delete them –

I EMPTIED THE RECYCLE BIN!

Oh yes.

So efficient.

Tidying up my desktop, you see.

Last thing at night.

So all I have left is the two images I emailed to Gail to enter the competition.

Oh the pain!

This is the version that Gail put up on the blog at Mind Wide Open so if you felt like popping over to have a look, and maybe even vote for me,  this is my entry there.

I don’t feel I can vote for myself (although you are allowed to) so I will have to try and choose among the other fabulous entries.

So here I go – dancing lightly…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 4, 2009 8:25 am

    You deleted your work? Don’t you just hate when that happens? LOL Hrm, so sorry for you. What a beautiful piece you’ve created! Now I’m off to see the other entries, and to vote for you 😉 Hugs

  2. GlitterQueen permalink
    December 8, 2009 2:53 pm

    This is really beautiful! I love the pearl dew drop, and SO SAD about your deleting your work! That is the worst! At least you still have the image to enter. I will go over and vote for you, and you should definitely vote for yourself after all that hard work.

  3. December 10, 2009 11:18 pm

    Congratulations on your tie for second place. It is a beautiful piece.

    Hugs,
    Penny

  4. March 3, 2010 3:18 pm

    Absolutely beautiful!! I love your place. Your freebies are fantastic and your advice is very, very helpful. Thanks for all the ideas.

Leave a Reply

