Skip to content

October CC: Vintage Borders

October 14, 2009

DSO is staying open, I am happy to report!  This month sees my tenth entry to Kim’s Color Challenge there (month-wise, some months I add seconds!) and I continue to enjoy the fun and the opportunity it affords of trying new things and stretching my design abilities. For this next offering, I am indebted to  Ian Alexander’s Natural Patterns Library.  Ian has gathered a large collection of very unusual patterns and textures in this lovely site and I love that he has added notes to explain where and what an image is or where he derived it from. For example….

Shard

Ian made a border pattern from this 18th Century piece of pottery, which I then altered to harmonize with Kim’s October swatch.

A second example is this wallpaper from the celebrated William Morris, of the 19th Century Arts and Crafts Movement. If you look very, very closely, you will see that it is a photo of a wall actually papered  with this William Morris print. The join is not perfect, which adds to its authenticity and charm, so I didn’t Photoshop it…Much  😉

william_morris_snakeshead

I did, however, alter the colour to achieve the Wayne’s World Pink in the swatch. Sorry William, Kimmie made me do it!

See if you can find my starting point for the third Border…

All three borders are 12×3″, the centre one is a png to preserve the lovely curved border I extracted from the wallpaper.

juno Vintage Borders

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Susanna permalink
    October 15, 2009 3:56 pm

    Thank you so much for sharing your stunning work.

  2. Michelle permalink
    October 15, 2009 8:13 pm

    Beautiful work! Thank you so much for sharing these gorgeous borders!

  3. Jackie permalink
    October 15, 2009 9:34 pm

    How fabulous!

  4. October 15, 2009 11:17 pm

    Beautiful! Thankyou.

  5. Kirsten permalink
    October 16, 2009 7:40 am

    Thank you so much!

  6. fl_connie permalink
    October 16, 2009 3:41 pm

    These are awesome! Truly stunning – and thank you so much for creating them & then sharing them!

  7. Pam permalink
    October 16, 2009 7:41 pm

    Thank you for sharing these beautiful borders!

  8. Suzy permalink
    November 2, 2009 10:13 am

    You have the BEST stuff! Thank you for these fabby borders!

  9. November 3, 2009 5:20 am

    hahahahaha- blame it on me – I can take it! LOL

    OMG_ these borders are just AWESOME! and I LOVE ATC cards- just never made one- maybe now’s the time to try huh?

    Thanks GF!!!

  10. Kindred Spirit permalink
    November 30, 2010 5:28 am

    New so I don’t quite know the rules. Is there a way to get the border group? Is it something that was offered and is no longer?

    • November 30, 2010 11:56 am

      *Kindred Spirit: Welcome! What happens is that every so often I remove the older links and the kits go into my Shoppe for downloading on a donation basis. But I’ve been neglecting to update the Shoppe recently! If you would like me to upload the borders to the Shoppe, please send me an email.
      There are lots of freebies still available. I am soon to do another lot of link-removing, so get them while you can!
      juno
      xx

  11. Margaret permalink
    November 30, 2010 2:29 pm

    I for one would love to get those borders. They’re gorgeous. Please do upload them to DSO. I”m sorry I missed them last month. Your work is just beautiful. Thanks!

    • December 6, 2010 12:27 am

      Hi Margaret! I’m so glad you like the borders, they are one of my favourite designs, too. I was very pleased with how well they turned out. Re DSO, I only play there, I have never had a store with them. But if you click on the “Shoppe” and “How to Donate” page links here on my blog, you will find out how to purchase them here 🙂
      juno
      xx

Leave a Reply

