Skip to content

Digital Art: SCD Metal and Freebie Gift Tag

September 22, 2009

Thanks to Kirsten and Sharon from Texas for their concern about me having no Photoshop! Sharon sent me a great tip in her comment, and I am putting it here in case it is of use to anyone else.

Resetting Photoshop’s Preferences
Here’s a quick way to reset your preferences in Photoshop: Press-and-hold Command-Option-Shift (PC: Ctrl-Alt-Shift) while you start Photoshop. As you start the program you will get a pop-up dialog asking you if you would like to delete the settings file. Deleting the file will create a new set of preferences from scratch.
Provided by NAPP (National Association of Photoshop Professionals)

My Photoshop is reinstalled, back up and running  🙂

Thanks also to Pepete for letting me know about a new Freebie Forum, Free-Digiscrap.com. This is like DigiscrapDepot, where you register and post your freebies as opposed to a search engine like Digifree that finds them automatically. It is (mostly) in French. Try right-clicking and selecting “Page Info” > “Translate Page into English”, if you have this function. Even without it, you may be able to work things out if you are familiar with general Forum setups. You will see some of my latest stuff there. Printables go into the “Hybride” category which is not very satisfactory because to my mind “hybrid” refers to a combination of digiscrap and paperscrap, not just something you print. But Hey-Ho!

juno Golden Love Moo Tag SCD This weeks SCD Moo Challenge is “Metal”

I have chosen Gold as my metal and turned my Moo into one of those glass slide altered art pieces (digitally, of course!) The background is a section of one of the Designer Papers from my kit “Watercolour Sparkle”. I was thinking of ways to use these moos, which are very small (2.8 x 7cm or 1 and an 1/8th inch wide by 2 and 3/4″ long) and for this one I came up with a Gift Tag, with the moo as a separate, swingy bit.

juno Golden Love Moo Tag copyGift Tag (above)…

With swingy bit…(below)

juno Golden Love Moo Tag 2 parts

My suggestion is to print the Moo on good quality, heavy Photopaper with a gloss finish to mimic the glass surface. You will fit five Moos onto a 4x6in sheet. Then print the tag part on satin or matte finish cardstock. Punch 1/8th inch holes in both moo and tag and thread a ribbon through both. You could mat the moo on to cardstock if your photopaper is not heavy enough.

The download file includes the digital tag and the 2-Part, Printable Gift Tag.

(All pngs, no drop shadows)

juno Golden Love Moo Gift Tag

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Carol permalink
    September 22, 2009 9:09 pm

    very effective moo and great idea to turn it into a tag – brill!

    Thanks for joining us at SCD this week.

  2. September 23, 2009 8:36 am

    This is insanely clever 😀 Love your moo/tag and thank you so much for sharing your work :)Hugs

  3. September 24, 2009 9:36 pm

    wow! I’m so glad you found our challenge blog. It’s great to pop over & see what you have come up with. Thanks for playing again this week. Never thought of turning them into tags what a super idea. Great instructions too.x

  4. October 1, 2009 9:25 am

    I don’t know If I said it already but …Hey good stuff…keep up the good work! 🙂 I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks,)

    A definite great read..Jim Bean

Leave a Reply

