Skip to content

Turn your Envelope into an EnveloBox

April 2, 2009

All emails have now been sent to those who left comments here on my blog  during the Exclusive Offer period. Only one email was returned undelivered and I was able to find an alternative  address for that, so hopefully by now you have all safely received your download details. Warm appreciation to those who have already sent acknowledgements and thanks. If you left a comment and didn’t receive an email from me, first check your spam folder and then contact me again.

This was a lot of fun! I really enjoyed all of your comments and the fact that you took the time to say Hi! I think I will make Exclusives a feature for those who take the time to comment – but I will take the RAK approach and you will just receive something special in your email.

Candy – you had a question about my Spring Zest kit. If you scroll back a few entries, you will find it! It’s still available as a free gift at the moment.

Ann-Maree – you mentioned using the Petal Envelope for your daughter’s wedding invitations, which would include RSVP’s. Since my older son was married just recently, I am still in “Wedding Mode” so I gave this a lot of thought. And I think you will need to modify the envelope for it to sit well with insertions inside. You need, in fact, an EnveloBox! (Did I just make that up??)

petal-envelobox-lo-copy

Make your Template as per previous instructions.

1)  Draw a line at the base of the petals all the way around. Then draw a second line just inside this line, making a smaller square in the centre of the template. Score both of these lines, fold and unfold.

2)  Reduce the size of the petals by the same margin all around.

3)  Cut along the inner lines as far as the smaller square. Interlock the petals as usual.

You now have an envelope with a bit of depth but that still closes snugly and elegantly.

This slightly smaller EnveloBox should still hold a 5.5 in card in the centre.

petal-envelobox-lo-2-copy1

As I was working on this, my gaze fell on a roll of embossed wallpaper I have sitting here in my study. The above LO shows an EnveloBox I made with this paper. It turned out reasonably well – not suitable for a wedding perhaps, but the possibility is there to use other, cheaper types of paper for wedding invitations, not just “Bridal” ones. I found exquisite cream and metallic gold gift wrapping paper to be perfect for another project Iwas producing. I would definitely check out designer wallpaper shops, think online for this as well, and you may be pleasantly surprised with what you find. Rolls of paper from a paper mill as opposed to sheets of paper from a craft shop have got to work out more inexpensive, too.

Have fun making the invitations, Ann-Maree! I’d love to see them when they are done.

(Background papers used in the above LOs are from my newest kit  “All This Joy”, which will be released here next week  🙂  )

juno-xx-small

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Judit permalink
    April 3, 2009 1:11 pm

    Well, the invites are now out, but I am planning to use this for the “thank you” cards… yes, I’m in full “Wedding Mode” too.
    This is just so gorgeous! Thanks so much.

  2. RoseAddict permalink
    April 5, 2009 1:05 am

    I love your EnveloBox! That could come in handy for so many things, even for gifts/objects/etc. in a heavier, larger version.

  3. crops permalink
    April 5, 2009 5:29 pm

    Hi Juno! Just wanted to stop by and say THANKS! Love the envelope! I will be giving it a try! and secondly… I have 2 awards for you on my blog, stop by when you get a chance!
    Hugs!!

Leave a Reply

