Skip to content

folder.jpg, Please!

February 9, 2009

newbie-notes-mcp
Do you know that it is possible to select which file/picture in a folder displays on the folder icon? When I first started downloading digiscrap kits I spent a frustrating amount of time trying to figure out how to do this so that I would have a visual pointer to what was in the many (MANY!) kits I was accumulating.

In XP, the operating system I had on my first computer, four apparently random files would show up on the folder icon. But all too often they would be non-representative of the kit inside, maybe some ribbons for example, so that I would not quickly be able to see what kind of kit was inside the folder, or what colour scheme. In Vista, which I have now on my new computer, it displays a little differently but the same problem – and the same solution – applies.

The solution? Folder.jpg!

By renaming the file/picture you want to folder.jpg, THAT one will show up as your folder display picture on the folder icon. It’s that simple. So instead of naming your preview “preview”, name it folder.jpg and your preview picture will display on the front of the folder.

Am I alone in thinking this is incredibly useful? I couldn’t possibly keep track of my digi files without this. Please, please, designers! Naming your preview to folder.jpg (or – at least on my computer – folder.gif also works but NOT folder.png) will save lots of renaming time!

juno-xx2

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 9, 2009 7:16 pm

    What an incredibly useful tip!!! Thank you!!! I’ve always copied the preview OUTSIDE the folder so I can just browse through those, LOL. This will save so much space on my EHD!

  2. May 23, 2010 6:02 am

    I didn’t know how much I needed this until I read your tip, and then the coin dropped! Thanks so very much for some great information.

Leave a Reply

